1. Invisible Territory

1. Invisible Territory

“What did you do?” I watched as Hera yelled at Zeus, brushing a strand of red hair behind the back of her ears and said, “If you don’t stop doing this, I’ll tell the Headmaster!”

“Oh, come on! You can’t be serious!” Zeus complained.

Hera glanced angrily outside the window, from which her favorite bag had dropped—by Zeus—a few moments ago. The view outside was tremendously breathtaking: some conifer trees erected like towers just beyond the windowsill, and in the gaps between them, the multicolor canyon opposite was just visible. The school was a world of isolation, providing comfort and quietness when we most needed them. In fact, no students had ever been beyond that canyon.

“Fine,” Hera said, gritting her teeth, “I’ll forgive you this time. Next time—” She waded two fingers in the air to show that she was serious.

Zeus only grinned at her and bounced off.

Having studied in the school for years, Zeus got to know a lot of friends and formed a sort-of gang of his own, which included a lot of the powerful gods. And then there were two groups of popular girls, one led by Hera and the other by Aphrodite, goddess of love. Naturally, everyone liked Aphrodite, but I think Zeus…

Oh, by the way, I’m not with Hera. I’m not with Aphrodite, either, but Hera was more friendly with me, though.

Half way down the corridor, I spotted a wisp of darkness around the corner and immediately recognized it as Hades’s essence. Because we were having the same class now, I followed him. He did not notice me at first, but after a while he paused, turned around, and stared at me with his dark eyes.

“What?”

“What what?” I asked.

He was probably going to say something else but he didn’t. Instead, he turned around and walked away.

So I followed him, quite aware that everyone passing us was stealing glances at us. I knew that it was unusual for Hades to have a companion, especially a girl, but I was a friendly person! What was wrong with walking with Hades anyway?

“Persephone,” someone called to me, “what are you doing with him?”

I turned around and saw the notorious Big Mouth, Aphrodite. “Nothing,” I said truthfully. “We’re in the same class, you see.”

Aphrodite and her followers giggled. Secretly rolling my eyes, I turned to catch up with Hades, who was now walking faster than ever.

Our History classroom was in a very dark, very dank corner of the school; the Headmaster had decided to set the department here because not a lot of people took the course. In fact, there was only me, Hades, Artemis, and Poseidon. Since there were group discussions of two, and Artemis didn’t want to group with Hades, I was left with him.

Hades wasn’t bad. He was actually the only person in our class who could recite whatever-it-was we learned from the start of the school year. The only problem was, he radiated so much power, like Zeus and Poseidon did, that I felt threatened around him; and it was the cold power of the dead, the non-living, so that I was suffocated every time I was near him.

“Do you see it?” he said suddenly, startling me.

“What?”

“That.” He pointed outside the one classroom window, which was beside our table. “The red streak.”

“What is it?”

“I don’t know,” he replied, his eyes far away, “but it’s something untouchable, like a barrier. I would like to see it up-close someday. To touch it with my own hands.” Then, unexpectedly, he turned to me and said, “Would you like to go there with me?”

(featured image from requiem-on-water.tumblr.com)

via Daily Prompt: Territory

Territory

Leave a Comment

