6. Just In Time

6. Just In Time

I stuffed the remains of my favorite blueberry waffle into my mouth—very un-girly, I know— and escaped the cafeteria.

It was Saturday, so we weren’t having any classes. However, each person was required to go outside. I was just pondering about what to do when Calliope burst in with a big smiley face and grabbed me by the elbow.

“It’s a nice day. What’s your plan?” she sang; singing was NOT her thing, but I decided not to point that out. Despite this, everyone knew that Calliope could acquire the title of a Muse, which was basically a goddess in the arts field. I think she could be the Muse of Epic Poetry.

The only clothing store in miles was just on the brink of the cliff. Sometimes I wondered what was beyond the canyons that seemed to have no end. Were there other gods and goddesses?

It was truly a pleasure to be with Calliope. She was every bit like the popular girls, yet she had nothing in common with them. She was this cool girl that I could never be, but I wanted to act like she did, to dress like she did, to talk to boys like she did.

She must have caught the look in my eyes, because she raised her eyebrows in a question and asked, “Is it Apollo?”

“What? No!” I grimaced.

We laughed.

“I do want to know something, though,” I said casually.

“Yeah?”

“How did you put up with Apollo?”

Calliope’s eyes smiled with laughter. Her memory of him was not unpleasant, yet it was not something to savor on. “Unlike his other girlfriends, I don’t believe in promises. I knew that eventually we would break up.”

I nodded. In the store, she began to throw cloths in a basket that allowed you to carry so much items that when it was full, half of the store’s outfits were in it. I was secretly satisfied that Calliope was helping me—she must have known what was best for me.

I stayed in my dorm room for the rest of the day, because I had the feeling that someone was standing outside my door. Not Poseidon, not anyone else.

“Persephone,” someone said, knocking the door. I was startled, but thankfully the voice didn’t belong to Apollo. Thus I opened the door and came face-to-face with Hades.

“What are you doing here?” That came out wrong. I corrected myself. “Do you want to see me?”

“I just passed the Exam.”

At this moment, Apollo’s blonde head popped out from behind the door frame. Thankfully, I didn’t have to say anything because Hades said, “Would you like to see what I can do?” Then he turned to glare at Apollo, who quickly retreated out of sight.

It was just the timely invitation I needed.

Timely

via Daily Prompt: Timely

(featured photo by Ryan McGurie, on gratisography.com)

5 thoughts on “6. Just In Time

  1. Hi! What an interesting story. I do ever so love Greek mythology and the way you made them applicable to modern life is fascinating! Why did you choose Persephone as your main character? Also, have you read Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson and the Lightening thief, it very much complements what seems to be your passions!
    Haha one last thing, if you live in Southern China then how did you come about loving greek mythology? Do they teach it in school? I know my school did. Just curious because I’m ethnically Chinese and I’ve always wondered…

    Like

    • Thank you! I have read Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson and Heroes of Olympus and Trials of Apollo, and it’s the reason why I love Greek mythology! When I first read the Percy Jackson series, I spent the whole day reading and only came out of my room for meals. I chose Persephone because 1) I like her, and 2) I want to create (spoiler alert) a different kind of love between Hades and Persephone.
      Sadly, my school doesn’t offer any courses in Greek mythology/classical literature/classical languages. Because most students choose Chinese or Korean as their first language to study and English as their second, they wouldn’t choose classical languages if offered, because that way, they would have way too many language courses. So I think everyone wants to have an easy life and my school doesn’t want to hire a teacher only to find that half of the class drops the course after a month.

      Liked by 1 person

      • It makes complete sense. I’m so surprised that students in China actually have contact with Rick Riordan’s books. I remember taking them to my Grandparents’ house every summer vacation and reading them over and over again. I swear I read the series once or twice through every summer. I think I may get my cousin a set of the books translated in Chinese. Since I know she loves Harry Potter and I hope for her to love Greek mythology as well!

        Like

        • Rick Riordan books are worth reading over and over again. I came to know him because I once studied in another country and the students there read his books. I’m glad that English reading in China is becoming more popular because that means Rick Riordan books available in bookstores! My little brother is also a fan of Harry Potter, and I’m trying to get him to read some Greek mythology and hopefully Percy Jackson.

          Liked by 1 person

          • I was wondering, do kids in China read the books in English or in Chinese? I did a quick little fumble on google wanting to get one for my cousin and found a chinese translation of the lightening thief. It was selling for 348 dollars. Used. Mind blown, and confused as to how this all works.

            Like

Leave a Comment

