Loss

When I see the one I love with her, I am overcome with waves that crush me with their incompatible force. The sky falls down on me and I am compressed deep into the ground, unable to get up again to face the world and everything and him.

I want so much to scream at him, to scream out what I have on mind: “Leave her. Leave her. Leave her.”

I want so much to chant in his ears, to chide him with what he has done: “How is she better?”

But I am restrained like a horse tethered in reins, because I am not his lover and so I am not empowered to condemn him.

Oh what have I done to deserve this? To see my loved one fly away with his loved one on their fragile wings—what worse punishments are there on the world?

via Tether

2 thoughts on “Loss

Leave a Comment

